The shocking truth about multimeters!

In science today we learned about multimeters! With my dad’s permission and supervision,  I got to test a few things out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first thing I did was test a  AA battery. To test a battery, you first have to identify which side is positive and which side is negative. After I did that, I stuck one lead on each side and waited for the voltage to show on the meter. The voltage was 1.56 VDC (volts direct current).

After that I tested an outlet on the wall! That time I had to be very careful not to touch any metal because if I did I could get shocked!!. Most outlets and switches range from 110-120 VAC (volts alternating current) when they are “healthy.” Our outlet was 120.6v!!

I then tested a 9 volt battery, the voltage was 9.39! I also tested a C battery, which had a voltage of 1.627.  Just for fun, I tested another AA battery. This time the voltage on it was 1.514. That means this battery had less power than the first battery that I tested!

I also learned that light bulbs do not store electricity as it measured 0 volts! 💡😎

Keep coming to Learning in Pajamas to find out what else I am doing!!

Leave a Reply

