Hurricane Irma (8th Grade English Assignment #8)

For today’s blog post I will be writing about my experience in Hurricane Irma! I will be sharing what my family was doing and how I felt during this entire hurricane.

When I first heard about this hurricane I was worried but as it got closer I started getting less and less worried, I really don’t know why. However, once I found out that the hurricane was close to my grandparents I was worried for them. I am scared easily so I’m sure it came as a surprise to my parents when I said that I wasn’t scared.

When Irma finally decided to get here my town got tropical storm weather. That made me feel even less worried because I’ve been through so many tropical storms. Although, I am completely terrified by tornados.

Anyway, my family decided that we would stay in Florida and sleep in the basement. We set up our camping cots and our sleeping bags. The first night we ended the night by watching little house on the prairie or as my family says, “little prairie on the house”. Through the night I was having a really hard time sleeping. Upsettingly there was a tornado warning for our area so we slept even closer together so we could easily be “herded” to our windowless hallway. Luckily my dad knows me so he didn’t tell me about the tornado warning until the next day, that way I would be worrying about that. The next morning, the power went out. I was so bored, I ended up watching movies on my portable DVD player. When my brother’s DVD player died we continued watching movies on mine. A few minutes later mine died, so we moved on to my computer. As you can tell, we watched a lot of movies. Sometimes we would play a short game, but it didn’t last that long. I got so bored so I just got my mom’s iPad are started playing you cam-makeup.

During this I realized how much we depend on electricity. We use it for just about everything we do. We need it for lights, hot water, television, and internet. I think that maybe I should start trying to work on that so whenever I do loose power I am prepared and it’s not something that I am not used to!

On the final day of not having power we started watching Adam Sandler movies! I called it an Adam Sandler marathon, it was so much fun! That night my dad and brother went out to get some gas, and they called to see if we had power and we did! I was happy but also not happy because I really wanted to sleep downstairs again. Luckily, we still got to sleep downstairs because it was cooler down there then in our bedrooms.

 

This was my experience during Hurricane Irma, at times it was scary, other were stressful, but for me, I was mostly excited! Come back to  Learning in Pajamas for more from me!

Leave a Reply

